Outi and Jan Vapaavuori Foundation

The Outi and Jan Vapaavuori Foundation has been founded in 2018. The purpose of the foundation is to support and inspire young artists from different fields – especially from visual and dance arts – to succeed in their careers and find more international pathways.

The Foundation has founded two prizes that are given out in alternate years. On odd years the award to a young promising dancer of the Finnish National Ballet is given out. On even years the award will be given to especially distinguished or boundary-pushing graduate of the Academy of Fine Arts.

The Foundation will also give out other prizes and acknowledgements. To support its functions the Foundation can receive donations, legacies and other aid.

The contact details for the Foundation

  • Email: saatio@vapaavuori.net
  • Chairman of the Board: Jan Vapaavuori
  • Secretary General: Hanna Laine

Recipients of The Young Dancer Award

  • Atte Kilpinen, 2019
  • Violetta Keller, 2021
  • Clark Eselgroth, 2023

Recipients of The Young Visual Artist Award

  • Iiri Poteri, 2022